About the Community College

History and Organization

In 1965, Doña Ana County was designated by the New Mexico Department of Education as an appropriate site in southern New Mexico for an area vocational-technical school. In 1971, the boards of education of the Gadsden, Hatch, and Las Cruces school districts requested that New Mexico State University establish a branch community college located on its campus in Las Cruces to offer postsecondary vocational-technical education in Doña Ana County. The NMSU Board of Regents approved the request in 1972, and the voters in Doña Ana County approved an operational mill levy in May 1973. The institution became an official entity on July 1, 1973. It began offering vocational training programs on September 4, 1973, as the Doña Ana County Occupational Education Branch of New Mexico State University.

College Mission, Vision, and Values

MISSION STATEMENT. DACC is a responsive and accessible learning-centered community college that provides educational opportunities to a diverse community of learners in support of workforce and economic development.

VISION STATEMENT. DACC will be a premier learning college that is grounded in academic excellence and committed to fostering lifelong learning and active, responsible citizenship within the community.

VALUES STATEMENT. As a learning-centered community college, DACC is committed to the following core values:

Education that:

  • offers lifelong learning opportunities
  • fosters dynamic learning environments designed to meet the needs of our students
  • guarantees equality of rights and access
  • ensures integrity and honesty in the learning process
  • provides comprehensive assessment of learning

Students who will be:

  • respected for their diversity
  • provided with a safe and supportive learning environment
  • challenged to become critical and independent thinkers
  • expected to take an active role in their learning process

Leaders and employees who:

  • practice transparency and inclusiveness in decision-making through shared governance and with external stakeholders
  • encourage and support professional growth
  • demonstrate high ethical standards and integrity
  • encourage collaborative interaction among faculty and staff
  • practice responsible fiscal management and personal accountability
  • ensure equal opportunities for a diverse faculty and staff

Communities that:

  • build partnerships, including educational alliances
  • strengthen industry partnerships to provide workforce development services and programs in support of economic development
  • develop and adapt instructional programs in response to changing educational needs


  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Accountability
  • Excellence
  • Discovery
  • Engagement

Governance and Funding

DACC is a community college of New Mexico State University. As such, it is governed by the Board of Regents of the university.  Through an operating agreement between the university and the three school districts in Doña Ana County DACC is served by an Advisory Board. Operating expenses for the community college are paid from state-appropriated funds, a property tax within the three school districts in the county, federal career-technical education funds, special grants, and tuition paid by students, the majority of which is subsidized by financial aid.

Educational Facilities

Doña Ana Community College has three locations in Las Cruces, as well as centers located throughout the county. For more information about the individual sites, see the section titled “Additional Locations”.

Online Study

Many courses and, in some cases, entire programs may be completed without ever attending classes at a physical campus. The following DACC programs may currently be completed entirely online:

Online Degrees

Online Certificates

To see which classes are being offered online during a given semester, consult the Schedule of Classes.

Institutional Accreditation

New Mexico State University – Doña Ana Community College is independently accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, Illinois 60604-1411
Phone: 1 (800) 621-7440 / (312) 263-0456
Fax: (312) 263-7462
E-mail: info@hlcommission.org

For links to e-mail addresses of various departments at the Higher Learning Commission, visit http://www.ncahlc.org/General/contact-us.html.

Individual Program Accreditations, Approvals, and Certifications

Refer to the tables at Institutional and Program Accreditations for information about individual program accreditations, approvals, and certifications.