Tuition, Fees, and Other Expenses
The published costs are for one semester. The university reserves the right to change any of the charges without notice. Updated information can be found at http://nmsua.edu/business-office/tuition-fees/.
NMSU-A Tuition and Billing Information: http://nmsua.edu/admissions/tuition-and-billing-information/.
Tuition and Fees
For a full listing of all tuition rates from the NMSU System please see the University Accounts Receivable website 1,2,3.
Residents In-District (NM residents living in Zip Code areas of 88310, 88311, 88325, 88330, 88337, 88342)
Residents Out-of-District (NM residents not living in the In-District Zip Codes listed above.)
Non-Resident students enrolling in six or fewer credits will pay 1.25 times the out-of-district resident tuition rate per credit hour.
Active Duty Military And Dependents: Non-resident active duty and foreign military personnel stationed in New Mexico and their family members are considered in-district for tuition purposes. Active duty personnel and their dependents who attend NMSU or one of its community colleges for the first time or who return after an absence from NMSU must pick up an Application for Active Duty Military Tuition Residence from the HAFB Education Office or the Office of Admissions & Records and return the completed application to the NMSU-A Admissions & Records Office or the NMSU-A office at HAFB at the time of admission or readmission.
Senior Citizens: In accordance with Statute 5.7.19 NMAC, New Mexico residents, 65 or older, who register on the first day of class after degree seeking students have registered for required courses, will be assessed the reduced tuition rate of $5.00 per credit hour with no university approved required fees. Senior citizen students will still be responsible for any applicable course fees. Per state law, senior citizens who take more than 10 credits must pay full price for all credits based on in-district or out-of-district residency.
Senior citizen students may register prior to the first day of class, based on the designated registration time noted in the semester registration guide, but they will be assessed the full NMSU tuition plus university approved required fees and will be responsible for any applicable course fees.
Contact the NMSU-A Admissions & Records Office for more information.
The following are ADDITIONAL FEES that will be assessed to the student.
Payment Plan Fee: A $10 payment plan will be assessed each month for late, partial, or missed payments. For information on payment plans, visit student-accounts.nmsu.edu.
Matriculation Fee: $20 first time NMSU students (non-refundable). $50 first time international students (non-refundable)
Late Registration Fee: A late registration penalty of $25 (non-refundable) will be assessed for course registrations processed during a term’s late registration time period. Failure to make scheduled payment with the University Accounts Receivable on due dates may result in additional liability.
Late Degree Application Fee: If applying for degree past the posted initial deadline, a late fee may be assessed for each degree.
Course/Lab Fees: Various courses have lab fees attached. Go to http://nmsua.edu/business-office/tuition-fees/ for a listing of fees.
Online Course Fee: Each credit of an online course has an additional $25.00 fee.
Student Printer Usage Fee: A general student printer usage fee will be assessed at the rate of $0.10 black & white per page, $0.25 color per page. At the beginning of each semester every NMSU-A student will receive $5.00 (50 pages black & white or 20 pages color) free. Additional printing can be purchased at the Business Office. All printing accounts will be terminated at the end of the academic year and the end of summer with no reimbursement of unused funds. The printing fees applies to general printing carried out in the Main Computer Lab located in SC 104, Library, and Academic Support Center. A max of $25 per month deposit limit.
Payment of Charges: By enrolling in classes at NMSU, a student makes a financial commitment to pay the tuition and fee charges associated with that enrollment. The enrollment action constitutes a financial obligation between the student and NMSU and all proceeds of this agreement will be used for education purposes and constitutes an education loan pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 523(a) (8). Terms and Conditions of Course Registration are posted on the NMSU website and available in each term’s registration guide. Payments can be made by mail, web, telephone, or in person at the Business Office. Cash, checks, money orders and limited types of credit cards are accepted. Term charges can be paid in full or paid by using a payment plan. For payment plan information, go to student-accounts.nmsu.edu. All financial aid received must be paid toward balances owed. Additional penalty charges may be assessed for failure to make payments when due. NMSU-A reserves the right to deny a payment plan to any student who has a poor credit rating or who has been negligent in making payments to the University for previous debts. Course reservations may be cancelled if payment arrangements for past due dates are not completed by the deadlines as outlined in the Important Dates listing in a term’s registration guide. Academic credits and transcripts will be withheld until all financial obligations are paid. Students are prohibited from registering for a term until all previous debts due to the University are paid in full.
Tuition Adjustments, Refund, and Forfeitures: Students officially withdrawing from all courses or dropping a course(s) during a semester or term are eligible for a 100-percent refund of tuition and fees through the deadlines listed online as outlined on the Important Dates for each term. Students withdrawing from a course(s) after that deadline will not be eligible for a refund and will remain liable for payment of full tuition and fee charges. Non-attendance does not constitute an official course drop or withdrawal. It is the student’s responsibility to withdraw from the university and/or drop a course if the student decides to not attend once enrollment has taken place. All charges due to NMSU must be paid before refunds or adjustments will be permitted.
In cases of academic or disciplinary suspension, eligibility for tuition refunds and adjustments will depend on the conditions of the suspension and will be entirely at the discretion of the institution. Should unforeseen circumstances beyond the reasonable control of New Mexico State University result in curtailing classes or otherwise withdrawing services that are a normal function of the institution, refunds of any nature will be at the discretion of the college/University administration.
Dishonored Financial Transactions-Checks, Credit Cards, ACH Transactions: The university charges a penalty on all dishonored cash instruments. Personal checks will not be accepted from students who have had previously dishonored checks.
Resident, Non-Resident Status: Resident or nonresident status is determined in accordance to a uniform definition established for all New Mexico institutions by the Higher Education Department, State of New Mexico. The University Student Records Office administers residency. Information on the following programs may be obtained from the University Admissions, the University Financial Aid and Scholarship Services, the NM Administrative Code (NMAC) 5.7.18.
- American Indian Agreement
- Dual Credit
- Foreign Military Dependent
- Foreign Military Spouse
- Foreign Military Stationed in New Mexico
- Immigrant Student (NM HS GRAD)
- Military Dependent
- Military Spouse
- Military Stationed in New Mexico
- Summer Session
- Veteran Waiver
Tuition, fees and other charges posted to the student account may be deferred and paid over the course of the semester by signing up for a payment plan. Students with an account balance of $200 or greater must sign up for a payment plan by the “Last Day to Drop a Course and Receive a 100% Refund” date which is also known as the Census date. There is a $25 non-refundable enrollment fee and a 20% down payment due at the time of enrollment for fall and spring semesters and a 33.33% down payment for the summer semester. Equal monthly payments are due on the 15th of each month of the semester. A $10 late fee is assessed to the student account for late, partial or missed payments. Students who are required to sign up for a payment plan and fails to do so by the deadline will have their current semester courses cancelled.